Tags

, , ,

Won’t you celebrate with me what i have shaped into a kind of life?

I had no model.

Born and brought up in Africa,
My dreams about future were just that;
Mere dreams.

But I made up a bouquet of tree leaves,
Placed it over my head,
And declared myself a black prince,
Amidst poverty and disease,
Famine and droughts,
Coups and civil wars.

I chose to cling on to my dark skin,
Without skin bleaches and foreign cultures,
Deprived of pride and dignity,
Among other great people of the world,
Who called ours, a “Dark continent”.

But standing here on this bridge of hope, between total decimation and optimism,
For a future that looks bleak,
I declare myself a true son of Africa,
Though despised and famished,
I want to live as Africa’s true native son,
Running free and wild,
In this new dawn for Africa.

My one hand holding tight to the ancestry of my forefathers,
my other hand holding out,
To capture the dreams that come with new dawn,
that wil will bathe the conciousness of the black man,
And secure his place at the table of the celebrated people of the world,
As an equal among equals!

That dawn is already here my friend; come celebrate with me that everyday
something has tried to kill me as a black man, and has failed!

By Bernard Wainaina,
Nairobi,1st August,2015.

Just some random thoughts that came to my mind….©Profarms’ Random Thoughts®

Just some random thoughts that came to my mind….©Profarms’ Random Thoughts®

