Tags

, ,

letting go is  tipping the balance in your favour

letting go is tipping the balance in your favour

If we contemplate desires and
listen to them, we are actually
no longer attaching to them; we
are just allowing them to be the
way they are.

Then we come to
the realisation that the origin of
suffering, desire, can be laid
aside and let go of.

How do you let go of things?

If you let go a little you will have a little happiness.

If you let go a lot you will have a lot of
happiness.

If you let go completely you will be totally happy and free too!

This means you leave them as
they are; it does not mean you
annihilate them or throw them
away.

It is more like setting
down and letting them be.

Through the practice of letting
go we realise that there is the
origin of suffering, which is the
attachment to desire, and we
realise that we should let go of
these three kinds of desire.

Then we realise that we have let go of
these desires; there is no longer
any attachment to them.

When you find yourself
attached, remember that ‘letting
go’ is not ‘getting rid of’ or
‘throwing away’.

If I’m holding onto this clock and you say, ‘Let
go of it!’, that doesn’t mean
‘throw it out’.

I might think that I
have to throw it away because
I’m attached to it, but that would
just be the desire to get rid of it.

We tend to think that getting rid
of the object is a way of getting
rid of attachment.

But if I can
contemplate attachment, this
grasping of the clock, I realise
that there is no point in getting
rid of it – it’s a good clock; it
keeps good time and is not
heavy to carry around.

The clock
is not the problem.

The problem
is grasping the clock.

So what do
I do?

Let it go, lay it aside – put it
down gently without any kind of
aversion.

Then I can pick it up
again, see what time it is and lay
it aside when necessary.

You can apply this insight into
‘letting go’ to the desire for
sense pleasures.

Maybe you
want to have a lot of fun.

How would you lay aside that desire
without any aversion?

Simply. recognise the desire without
judging it.

You can contemplate
wanting to get rid of it – because
you feel guilty about having such
a foolish desire – but just lay it
aside.

Then, when you see it as
it is, recognising that it’s just
desire, you are no longer
attached to it.

So the way is always working
with the moments of daily life.

When you are feeling depressed
and negative, just the moment
that you refuse to indulge in that
feeling is an enlightenment
experience.

When you see that,
you need not sink into the sea of
depression and despair and
wallow in it.

You can actually
stop by learning not to give
things a second thought.

You have to find this out
through practice so that you will
know for yourself how to let go
of the origin of suffering.

Can you let go of desire by wanting
to let go of it?

What is it that is
really letting go in a given
moment?

You have to
contemplate the experience of
letting go and really examine
and investigate until the insight
comes.

Keep with it until that
insight comes: ‘Ah, letting go,
yes, now I understand.

Desire is being let go of.’

This does not
mean that you are going to let
go of desire forever but, at that
one moment, you actually have
let go and you have done it in
full conscious awareness.

There is an insight then.

This is what
we call insight knowledge.

In Pali,a transcendial level in buddhist meditation, we call it nanadassana or
profound understanding.

I had my first insight into letting
go in my first year of meditation.

I figured out intellectually that
you had to let go of everything
and then I thought: ‘How do you
let go?’

It seemed impossible to
let go of anything.

I kept on
contemplating: ‘How do you let
go?’

Then I would say, ‘You let go
by letting go.’ ‘Well then, let go!’

Then I would say:
‘But have I let go yet?’ and, ‘How
do you let go?’ ‘Well just let go!’

I went on like that, getting more
frustrated.

But eventually it
became obvious what was
happening.

If you try to analyse
letting go in detail, you get
caught up in making it very
complicated.

It was not
something that you could figure
out in words any more, but
something you actually did.

So I. just let go for a moment, just
like that.

Now with personal problems
and obsessions, to let go of
them is just that much.

It is not
a matter of analysing and
endlessly making more of a
problem about them, but of
practising that state of leaving
things alone, letting go of them.

At first, you let go but then you
pick them up again because the
habit of grasping is so strong.

But at least you have the idea.

Even when I had that insight into
letting go, I let go for a moment
but then I started grasping by
thinking: ‘I can’t do it, I have so
many bad habits!’

But don’t trust
that kind of nagging, disparaging
thing in yourself.

It is totally
untrustworthy.

It is just a matter
of practising letting go.

The more you begin to see how to
do it, then the more you are
able to sustain the state of non-
attachment.

Just some random thoughts that came to my mind….©Profarms’ Random Thoughts®

