Tags

“Infuse your life with action. Don’t wait for it to
happen. Make it happen. Make your own
future. Make your own hope. Make your own
love. And whatever your beliefs honour your
creator, not by passively waiting for grace to
come down from upon high, but by doing
what you can to make grace happen…
yourself, right now, right down here on Earth”.
~ Bradley Whitford

I rescued my cat from damnation somewhere
in the streets of Narok on my way home during my birthday last year,on a day like today.

I brought it to my home in Kajiado and fed it religiously for six months.

It grew to become a very beautiful and playful
companion in the house.

I never failed for a single day to make sure that Jaffa had something to eat and some milk to go down with its food from my friendly Maasai neighbours.

He literally lived because I was there.

Without me, or so I thought, Jaffa would
not live a day.

Then one day I was called upon to go out for
an urgent call of duty that took me out of town for two days.

But it took me not two days,but three weeks to complete my assignment!

There was so much to lose if I did not get to Maasai Mara in a hurry, and in the process Jaffa was forgotten.

I even forgot to leave Jaffa some food
and water.

It was not a consolation when I remembered I had also forgotten to close the window of my kitchen.

The kitchen was at the back.

So even if the cat was able to get out of the kitchen, he may just revert back to his olden ways as a wild alley cat.

In my long absence,he was doomed again.

At the back of the house, on the way out of the kitchen, I kept my waste bin.

I emptied the bin once a week.

It was not the end of the week yet before I left for Mara.

This meant that the bin had most of the leftover food for almost a week.

Without a family, most of my meals consisted of rice, noodles and spaghetti.

The quickest food a bachelor can prepare.

That was not the kind of food Jaffa was used to eating.

Maybe he did not even recognise that rice was food after eating donated meat from my Maasai friends all the time.

So the option of turning to the waste bin for food for Jaffa was wishful thinking.

My cat was probably going to die of starvation by the time I got back.

No one had my spare key for the flat that I could call upon to help feed the cat.

I prepared for the worst.

I arrived back home on the evening of the third week.

Before I got to the house, I bought a packet of milk and a piece of liver, in the hope that Jaffa was not dead,or had completely absconded the house and needed careful reboot to life like I had done before.

When I got inside the house, it was as quiet
as a tomb.

There was absolutely no life.

I went to the kitchen.

The window was still open but Jaffa was nowhere there.

I figured out that he could have most likely absconded the house.

I decided to make some tea for myself with the milk I had carried for Jaffa.

The liver would be make stew for my dinner.

I was busy in the kitchen when something soft and furry touched my legs.

I looked down and there was
Jaffa!

He had been sleeping on my chair at the
study room.

He was as healthy,if not even looking better than before.

He was even more friendly to me than ever before!

I was confused.

The liver was on the chopping board over the kitchen the table.

He saw it but didn’t bother.

He just made contact by brushing his body against my legs as greetings and then hoisted himself on the kitchen window and disappeared behind the waste bin.

The jigsaw puzzle started falling in to place.

Jaffa lay very still in a hunting poise and hidden behind the bin.

Some birds, house sparrows to be exact, came and landed on the bin.

They looked around and went inside the bin to look for rice.

As soon as the birds went inside the bin,Jaffa jumped from his hiding place and on top of
the bin.

The birds had no escape from inside the bin.

The cat quickly grabbed one of them and started playing with it before killing it and carefully plucking the feathers before eating the bird.

Jaffa had discovered how to make use of waste to get fresh food, in the absence of his benefactor!

Make this year, the year to make it happen, yourself, right here.

Jaffa taught me this fine lesson.

I started him off in his new life.

He has already found his way to go on about his life,even without me.

I dedicate my birthday today to Jaffa,for being my worthy and innovative companion,even in my normally long absences from home.

I toast to Jaffa,for having lived with me,since my last birthday,and through a whole year,to my birthday again today!

Just some random thoughts that came to my mind….©Profarms’ Random Thoughts®

