Tags

,

East, west, home is best.

That is always what we say
when we miss home.

In my profession that entails a lot of field trips, it has become more of a habit to miss home. It works like the clock.

On a seven day tour of duty, the fifth day is when the longing begins.

On a 15-day tour, the tenth day is
when the tiredness kicks in and I begin dreaming of home, a strong cup of coffee and some home noise,like playing my best of Country Music collection.

Talking about home noise, I once finished my tour and headed straight home for the usual cold welcome from my furniture.

I did expect the home noise but that is not what I got.

I got more than that.

Once I had settled down to dinner, the home noise subsided and the
place was quiet save for the murmuring of the refrigerator motor.
That was what I was waiting for so
that I could relax on the bed and do a mental post-tour notes.

But as soon as I got to bed, another type of noise started.

It was a very loud noise and with a very high pitch.

The highest I could imagine.

It reminded me of the time I used to do camping tours,pitching my tent on client farms.

This type of camping that is very basic.

Just a tent erected on a flat surface in the middle of nowhere.

That was when I could not sleep because of the high-pitched sounds
coming from the bush.

The sounds were the same as
what I was hearing at home, but in the bush, they were coming from several sources and the pitch was
different.

They formed a sort of a long musical chorus that made the noise bearable.

But what I was listening to, here at home, so far away from the bush, was one high pitch that was
threatening to tear off my eardrum.

I woke up and closed all the window of the bedroom.

That made the sound even louder.

Which meant the source of the
maddening song, was inside the bedroom.

I decided to find the noise maker and throw it out of my only sanctuary.

I needed a quiet night and I did not expect such noises anywhere near Nairobi, let alone my house, and
indeed, my bedroom!

But as soon as I switched the lights on, the noise suddenly stopped.

Now, that was annoying.

I did not know where to begin looking.

There were several places where the noise maker could hide.

Either it was in the closet, or in the
bathroom, or within the bedroom area.

I took a torch and searched under the bed.

There was nothing.

I could not even attempt to look at the closet.

It was so full of stuff that it would take me a day to ransack the
whole place.

So I went to the bathroom, looked under the sink and the entire bathtub.

There was nothing.

I gave up and jumped back on the bed.

I put off the lights and heaved a sigh of relief and let my mind wonder
off to the bush.

The noise maker read my mind and
came back with his monotone of a song in its loudest!

I was a tired man.

Such a man is easily provoked.

I wanted to shout as loud as the noise maker, to see whether it would feel disturbed and stop the game.

But I was in my house and etiquette demands otherwise,or my neighbours would feel obliged to haul me to the nearest asylum for my own safety.

I resolved to trail the noisemaker in the darkness by following the direction of the sound.

I started tiptoeing around the bedroom with a keen
ear.

Whichever corner of the room I went to, the noise seemed to come from the opposite side.

I was so full of anger that when I passed close to the bathroom
mirror, I thought I saw sweat and an ugly sneering look on my face.

I was cursing silently because the noise had evolved into a surround sound.

It was coming from all over the
room.

I gave up the second time, went to bed and put on the lights.

Like magic, the noise died.

I could sleep without the noise from the stranger, but I could not
sleep with the lights on.

The best option was to get back to the living room and watch a movie until late,when the noise would no longer bother me if it would
still be there.

I picked up my shoes, and, right inside one of the shoe, was my enemy noise maker!

A cricket!

How does such a small insect make so much noise?

Just some random thoughts that came to my mind….

