Tags

During my second year of graduate school, our eccentic
professor gave us a pop
quiz.

I was a conscientious student and had
breezed through the
questions, until I read the last one: ‘What is the
first name of
the woman who cleans your rooms?”

Surely this
was some kind of joke.

I had seen the cleaning woman several times.

She was tall, dark-haired
and in her 50s, but how would I know her name?

I handed in my paper,
leaving the last question blank.

Before class
ended, one student
asked if the last question would count toward our
quiz grade.

Absolutely, said the professor. “In your careers you
will meet many
people. All are significant. They deserve your
attention and care, even if
all you do is smile and say hello”.

I’ve never forgotten that lesson.

I also learned her name was Dorothy.

http://profarmsconsultants.kbo.co.ke

