Tags

,

It is a saturday morning.

This is a story about the value of time.

It is going on in one the many FM radio talk and call-in shows.

A caller has riveted my attention to a story about time. He went thus;

“Let me tell
you something Tom, something that has helped me
keep a good perspective on my own priorities.”

And that’s when he began to explain his theory of a
“thousand marbles.”

“You see, I sat down one day and did a little
arithmetic. The average person lives about seventy-
five years. I know, some live more and some live
less, but on average, folks live about seventy-five
years.”

“Now then, I multiplied 75
times 52 and I came up with 3900 which is the
number of Saturdays that the average person has in
their entire lifetime”.

“Now stick with me Tom, I’m getting to the
important part”.

“It took me until I was fifty-five years
old to think about all this in any detail”, he went on,
“and by that time I had lived through over twenty-
eight hundred Saturdays”.

“I got to thinking that if I
lived to be seventy-five, I only had about a thousand
of them left to enjoy”.

“So I went to a toy store and
bought every single marble they had. I ended up
having to visit three toy stores to round-up 1000
marbles”.

“I took them home and put them inside of a
large, clear plastic container right here in my
workshop next to the radio. Every Saturday since
then, I have taken one marble out and thrown it
away”.

“I found that by watching the marbles diminish, I
focused more on the really important things in life.
There is nothing like watching your time here on this
earth run out to help get your priorities straight”.

“Now let me tell you one last thing before I sign-off
with you and take my lovely wife out for breakfast.
This morning, I took the very last marble out of the
container”.

“I figure if I make it until next Saturday
then God has blessed me with a little extra time to
be with my loved ones…… “t was nice to talk to you
Tom, I hope you spend more time with your loved
ones, and I hope to meet you again someday. Have a
good morning!”

You could have heard a pin drop when he finished.

Even the show’s moderator didn’t have anything to
say for a few moments.

I guess he gave us all a lot to
think about.

I had planned to do some work this
morning, then go to the
Club for a day out.

Instead, I went upstairs and woke my soulmate up
with a kiss. “C’mon honey, I’m taking you to breakfast.”

“What brought this on?” she
asked with a smile.

“Oh, nothing special,” I said.

“It has just been a
long time since we spent a Saturday together . Hey, can we stop at a toy store while we’re
out? I need to buy some marbles.”

She was bewildered by my new eccentric ways,but i learnt my lesson in time!

http://profarmsconsultants.kbo.co.ke

