I will not be broken; I will continue to dream.
I will not be broken; soon I will soar free.
I will not be broken; I will remember the glory that awaits by my doorstep.

I will repel the pain of words spoken against me,
words meant to malign.
I will not be broken by the furtive moves
of those who seek to destroy
my essence,
of those who seek to destroy my mind.

I will not be broken by years of tears,
Soaking the road by those who
walked before me,
of those whom I’m sent to tend and defend.

I will not be broken by years of fear,
by fear to speak,
by fear of judgment,
by fear of false impressions,
by fear of self-doubt and unrealistic expectations
cultivated over years of ineffectual competition
drilled
into
me
by
well meaning men.

I will not be broken by their unfulfilled dreams, dreams like blood that flow through
our veins. I will not be broken
by his-tory,
by her-story,
by my-story
now intertwined into
Life-story.

I will not be broken; I will continue to dream.
I will not be broken; soon I will soar free.
I will not be broken; I will remember thee my God.

I will remember thee with words of awe, with mental fortitude to walk your talk.

I will surmount diversity,
animosity,
curiosity,
and not balk.

I will not be broken; my voice will not sleep, my mind will not weep.

I will not be broken.
I will succeed
and heed
the message of resilience
from many who walked before me.
I will rise like the Phoenix and continue to soar.

I will not be broken …till I open my destined door.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

